So is this what it feels like?

Today the UK’s favourite Ozzy since Kylie and Jason exploded the nation’s tv sets uploaded a Numberphile video which has made me happier than I have been in at least a week or something:

I have no words for how my heart soared when I saw the Facebook update.

Numberphile’s viewer statistics are unknown to me and as such I have no idea how many of the people who have (or will) see it have a Maths degree, or even a qualification somewhere approximating the A-Levels of my day. It was at A-Level that I first read about the existence of transcendentals, but it wasn’t until somewhere in my undergrad days that we were shown a proof (π, I think). My lasting memory was that it was quite neat, but two weeks later I was hard-pressed to recall it.

That’s not the main reason (if there was anything in the previous paragraph that could even be construed as a reason) I’m raving about this video.

The first point is that I knew the punchline of this video before it came; I could see it coming, this inevitable punchline, and whilst I don’t know what it would have been like to watch had I not already known it beforehand, the sense of mounting excitement was palpable. Mainly in my throat, which is tricky when you’re drinking tea at the same time.

Is this what it’s like when you’re sitting watching a thriller?

I’m not a big movie-goer; last Summer a friend came to visit and expressed near-horror when it emerged that I couldn’t remember the last time I’d been to the cinema (Brave was awesome, though!).

There’s a big long list (waslijst in Cloggiespeak) of Things I Don’t Like In Films And Dramas: gore, scary music, too much build-up, that kind of thing. But there are plenty of people who truly enjoy that kind of experience and for some it might be fair to say that it forms the highlight of the whole film (or tv drama, etc). But – and this is my second point – this is something I’ve never quite got until, perhaps, today.

Which probably just means I’m even more of a geek than I thought I was.

Leave a Reply

