On catching trains

Earlier today I was in a far-off realm and had a problem of logistics.

There was Mass in the early evening, and a fast train back home that I would have missed had I gone to Mass. There were alternative, later options to get back, but not being as fast, I would have got home even later. Quite apart from the virtues of a sensible and regular sleep schedule, I have to be at work tomorrow.

Mass.

Sleep.

Mass.

Sleep.

My scrupulosity and admiration of the Desert Fathers in the red corner versus common sense (which is often much overrated) in the blue.

I wandered up to a large church I’d spotted amongst the skyscrapers, went in, found the Blessed Sacrament Chapel and gave thanks for all that had happened thus far today.

Then I asked my GA to take my heart (the red, bloody, beating one if necessary – you know, Aztec human sacrifice style) to Mass for me. And then turned round, went to the train station, and got the fast train back home.

And I was at peace with the decision I made.

(In addition, I got back home right before the heavens opened and it started chucking it down with rain)

Leave a Reply

